History of Cricket World Cup and Special About Each Cup

History of Cricket World Cup and Special About Each Cup

In every game world cup is a tournament which gives the actual champions of the game. It is not just a tournament, It is a competition which brings pride and glory to a country. So, for most of the players it is a dream to play a world cup and win it for their country. In countries like India, Australia, Pakistan where cricket is more than a sport the game. The expectation of winning a world cup will be at other level. We can see players passion towards the game while playing it. They sledge they fight they do and give everything to win it. But off the field the equation is different. Many changes happened in the game in years, formats changed rules changed and many more changes came up. Basically there are three formats as we all know and world cup is held in ODI’s and T-20’s. ICC is planning to start a test world cup soon as well. ICC ODI world cup happens once every four years since 1975

  1. 1975 (officially the Prudential Cup ’75)
    First ever world cup held in 1975 and West Indies won by 17 runs against Australia. First time East Africa appeared in the 1975 World Cup and the 1979, 1982 and 1986 ICC Trophies, after that this team is no more in history. At that time in ODI were played 60 overs per side.
    Venue: Lord’s Cricket Ground, London. (Final)
    West Indies: Clive Lloyd (Captain)
    Australia: Ian Chappell. (Captain)
    Player of the match: Clive Lloyd.
  2. 1979 (officially the Prudential Cup ’79)
    Second time consecutively West Indies won by 92 runs against England.
    Venue:  Lord’s Cricket Ground, London. (Final)
    West Indies : Clive Lloyd (Captain)
    England: JM Brearley (Captain)
    Player of the match: Viv Richards.
  3. 1983 (officially the Prudential Cup ’83)
    Every Indian’s dream comes true. India lift their first cricket world cup. West Indies continuously entered into finals for the 3rd time, but India spoiled WI chance of doing a hat trick. This was the only series that there was no ‘Man of the Series’ award.
    Venue: Lord’s Cricket Ground, London. (Final)
    India: Kapil Dev (Captain)
    West Indies: CH Lloyd (Captain)
    Player of the match: Mohinder Amarnath. 

4.1987 (officially the Reliance World Cup 1987)
For the first time the tournament was held outside England, And from this tournament ICC ODI tournament become 50 overs match. Australia won the first 50 overs ICC world cup against England.
Venue: Eden Gardens, Kolkata, India. (Final)
Hosts: India and Pakistan.
Australia:  Allan Border. (Captain)
England: MW Gatting. (Captain)
Player of the match: David Boon.

  1. 1992 (officially the Benson & Hedges World Cup 1992)
    This was the first world cup that had been played in the stadiums with floodlights as well as white cricket balls and colored clothing. Pakistan won the trophy for the first time. Once again the English men finished the touranment as runners. Late 1991 South Africa got promoted as a test nation and to play world cup after 21 years and this was also the Zimbabwe team first ICC trophy to be played.
    Host: Australia and New zealand
    Venue: Yarra Park,Australia (Final)
    Pakistan: Imran Khan. (Captain)
    England: GA Gooch. (Captain)
    Player of the match: Wasim Akram.
  2. 1996 ( officially Wills World Cup 1996 ) 
    This time Sri Lanka won the World cup title against Australia. With this all the Asian countries who have the test Nations won World cup title. At that time.
    Host: India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.
    Venue: Lahore, Pakistan. (Final)
    Australia: Mark Taylor. (Captain)
    Sri Lanka: A Ranatunga. (Captain)
    Player of the series: Sanath Jayasuriya
  3. 1999 (officially known as ICC Cricket World Cup 99)
    Australia won the World Cup for the second time against Pakistan. For the first time Kenya, Bangladesh and Scotland Qualified to play ICC trophy.
    Host: England, Wales, Scotland, Ireland and Netherlands.
    Venue: Lord’s Cricket Ground in London (Final)
    Australia: SR Waugh. (Captain)
    Pakistan: Wasim Akram. (Captain)
    Player of the match: Shane Warne.
  4. 2003 (officially as ICC Cricket World Cup 2003)
    The tournament featured 14 teams, This was the first time in the World Cup’s history that many teams contended. playing a total of 54 matches. First time South Africa hosted the world cup along with Kenya and Zimbabwe. This time Australia won their 3rd World Cup title.
    Host: South Africa, Kenya and Zimbabwe.
    Venue: The Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg. (Final)
    Australia: Ricky Ponting. (Captain)
    India: Sourav Ganguly. (Captain)
    PLAYER OF THE MATCH: Ricky Ponting
    Player of the series: Sachin Tendulkar 
  5. 2007 (officially known as ICC Cricket World Cup 2007)
    Australia Won the title for the fourth time it was a hat trick for Australia by winning world three times in a row. Australia won by 53 runs (D/L method) First time West Indies were the hosts for world cup, Sri Lankans were the runners and they were in finals for the second time.
    Host: West Indies
    Venue: Kensington Oval, Bridgetown, Barbados( Do not get confused with Oval in London) http://bit.ly/2ytBYGX
    Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene. (Captain)
    Australia: Ricky Ponting. (Captain)
    Player of the match: Adam Gilchrist
    Player of the series: Glenn McGrath 
  6. 2011 (officially known as ICC Cricket World Cup 2011)
    India and Srilanka both were in finals for the third time and first time against each other, This time India won the title for the second time. Special about this match was both the capitan are Wicket Keepers.
    Host: India, Srilanka, Bangladesh.
    Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai.
    India: MS Dhoni. (Captain)
    Sri Lanka: Kumar Sangakkara. (Captain)
    Player of the match: MS Dhoni. (Captain)
    Player of the Series: Yuvraj Singh.
  7. 2015 (officially known as ICC Cricket World Cup 2015)
    Australia won the title against New Zealand, and this was the fifth world cup for Australia. Highest number of World Cup wins for any team.
    Host: Australia and New Zealand
    Venue: Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne.
    Australia: Michael Clarke (Captain)
    New Zealand: Brendon McCullum (Captain)
    PLAYER OF THE MATCH: James Faulkner
    PLAYER OF THE SERIES: Mitchell Starc

Till now 11 editions of ICC ODI world cup took place. Next ICC world cup will be in 2019 and the hosts are England. As per sources and recent analytics every team is looking very strong and making their squad to ready for the next world cup. While recently in New Zealand tour of India, New Zealand captain, Kane Williamson, in an interview gave a compliment to Indian team by giving a statement that “Defeating the current Indian team at their home would be like winning the world cup for us” Not only Team India, every team is becoming strong day by day. Pakistan proved that in The Champions trophy happened recently, South Africa is playing good, England is one of the best team, Bangladesh players are really appreciable.

One thought on “History of Cricket World Cup and Special About Each Cup

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.