Bank Holidays Gujarat

Public Holidays in 2020

DATE DAY Holiday
14-Jan Tue Makara Sankranti
26-Jan Sun Republic Day
21-Feb Fri Maha Shivaratri
10-Mar Tue Holi
25-Mar Wed Ugadi
2-Apr Thu Ram Navami
6-Apr Mon Mahavir Jayanti
10-Apr Fri Good Friday
14-Apr Tue Dr Ambedkar Jayanti
25-Apr Sat Maharshi Parasuram Jayanti
25-May Mon Idul Fitr
1-Aug Sat Bakrid / Eid al Adha
3-Aug Mon Raksha Bandhan
12-Aug Wed Janmashtami
15-Aug Sat Independence Day
16-Aug Sun Parsi New Year
22-Aug Sat Ganesh Chaturthi

Public Holidays in 2019

Name of the Festival Date Weekday Type of Holiday
Makar Sankranti January 14 Monday Optional Holiday
Republic Day January 26 Saturday Gazetted Holiday
Maha Shivratri March 04 Monday Optional Holiday
Holi March 21 Thursday Optional Holiday
Bank Holiday April 01 Monday Gazetted Holiday
Dr Ambedkar Jayanti April 14 Sunday Gazetted Holiday
Mahavir Jayanti April 17 Wednesday Optional Holiday
Good Friday April 19 Friday Gazetted Holiday
Parashurama Jayanti May 07 Tuesday Optional Holiday
Idul Fitr June 05 Wednesday Optional Holiday
Idul Juha August 12 Monday Optional Holiday
Independence Day August 15 Thursday Gazetted Holiday
Raksha Bandhan August 15 Thursday Optional Holiday
Parsi New Year August 17 Saturday Optional Holiday
Sreekrishna Jayanthi August 24 Saturday Optional Holiday
Ganesh Chaturthi September 02 Monday Optional Holiday
Muharram (Ashoora) September 11 Wednesday Optional Holiday
Mahatma Gandhi Birthday October 02 Wednesday Gazetted Holiday
Dussehra October 08 Tuesday Optional Holiday
Deewali October 27 Sunday Optional Holiday
Vikram Samvat New Year October 28 Monday Optional Holiday
Bhai Bij October 29 Tuesday Optional Holiday
Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel's Birthday October 31 Thursday Optional Holiday
Id-e-Milad November 10 Sunday Optional Holiday
Guru Nanak Birthday November 11 Monday Optional Holiday
Christmas Day December 25 Wednesday Gazetted Holiday

Public Holidays in 2017

Name of the Festival

Date

Weekday

Type of Holiday

Pongal

January 14

Saturday

Optional Holiday

Republic Day

January 26

Thursday

Gazetted Holiday

Maha Shivratri

February 24

Friday

Optional Holiday

Holi

March 13

Monday

Optional Holiday

Cheti Chand

March 28

Tuesday

Optional Holiday

Bank Holiday

April 01

Saturday

Bank Holiday

Ram Navami

April 04

Tuesday

Optional Holiday

Mahavir Jayanti

April 09

Sunday

Optional Holiday

Dr Ambedkar Jayanti

April 14

Friday

Gazetted Holiday

Good Friday

April 14

Friday

Gazetted Holiday

Parashurama Jayanti

April 28

Friday

Optional Holiday

Idul Fitr

June 26

Monday

Optional Holiday

Raksha Bandhan

August 07

Monday

Optional Holiday

Independence Day

August 15

Tuesday

Gazetted Holiday

Janmashtami

August 15

Tuesday

Gazetted Holiday

Parsi New Year

August 17

Thursday

Optional Holiday

Ganesh Chaturthi

August 25

Friday

Optional Holiday

Idul Juha

September 02

Saturday

Optional Holiday

Dussehra

September 30

Saturday

Optional Holiday

Muharram (10th Day)

October 01

Sunday

Optional Holiday

Mahatma Gandhi Birthday

October 02

Monday

Optional Holiday

Deewali

October 19

Thursday

Optional Holiday

Vikram Samvat New Year

October 20

Friday

Optional Holiday

Bhai Bij

October 21

Saturday

Optional Holiday

Guru Nanak Birthday

November 04

Saturday

Optional Holiday

Milad-un-Nabi

December 02

Saturday

Optional Holiday

Christmas Day

December 25

Monday

Public Holiday

Treat your taste buds on public holiday in Gujarat

Gujarat is a place which produced great leaders like Mahatma Gandhi, Narendra Modi and etc. Also great businessmen like Dhirubhai Ambani, Adani etc. In such a place, there are few foods which you must taste at least once to treat your taste buds and you use a public holiday in Gujarat to do so. Here are few we choices which you may like.

Thepla - Thepla is the first thing comes to mind if we talk about the Gujarati food. Made from whole wheat flour, gram flour, spices, fresh fenugreek leaves and that too with a cup of steaming hot tea is an irresistible combination. Planning to make this and have a public holiday in Gujarat will be a tasty idea.

Handvo - Gujarati cake, This is prepared in a pressure cooker or over a charcoal. We can make it crispy by frying it in a pan as well. This is one of the best cakes you can have and a tourist who comes to Gujarat will not go without tasting this delicious cake. Not only these other foods such as Fafda, Undhiyu, Sev Tameta and many more foods which you must taste on a public Holiday in Gujarat.